Welcome to school

Once again, I would like to welcome everyone to Pre-Junior A.  It was a pleasure meeting parents and children once again today.  I have started putting new faces and names together and matching parents with the children but please help me out in the coming days when you drop off and pick up your children and bear with me when I forget some names.

We started off our year today with a going to school story which was about an old lady who swallowed some books.  Those children who want to hear the story again can do so by clicking on the link below:

Then, to give everyone an idea about how we are going to relate topic work to literacy, we focused on the schoolbag of the old lady.  School bag starts with the sound s.  We looked for other things that start with s.  We learnt that to see with what sound a word starts, we need to follow 3 steps:

letter-s-wilf

We also saw how our letter s was written – “make a curve, then curve back again like a snake”

The children then had some time to decorate their own schoolbag.  These will be hung outside the classroom and then stuck onto their letter scrapbooks.

Lastly we had the party with lots of food and entertainment.  I hope that you enjoyed yourselves as much as I did.  I will put up photos of the activities in class once I have looked through the consent forms.

Once again thank you very much for your collaboration.  I am sure that we will have a great year together 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

